Airline Ratings Lists Everything You Need to Know About an Airline and Its Safety Record

With a very tight competition between airlines nowadays, customers are provided with various deals and promotions. Traveling has been made easy and convenient, but people should bear in mind that sometimes they risk their safety upon buying really cheap airplane tickets. Aside from looking for the cheapest price, customers should also look into the airline’s safety record because if it has terrible rating it may not worth the cheap price. Airline ratings in general consist of five criteria that are used to score each airline’s safety, where you can also check on the individual criteria written in the following list to make sure that the airline that you want to book is perfectly safe:


European Union Blacklist

With regards to keeping its aviation safety records to be the best in the world, the European Union implements high standards and cooperates closely with safety authorities to create a list of airlines which are banned from flying in their airspace. Several reasons which cause an airline to be banned from flying over European Union’s airspace may include poor aircraft maintenance, regulatory oversight or potentially risky passenger safety.

Fatality Record

Once an airline managed to be free of fatalities in the last ten years, a star will be added to their rating. Fatality in this case however, only refers to accident on board of a plane whereas acts of terrorism or hijackings are not included. So if your favorite airline seems to be very nice and decent but it does not get a perfect 7 out of 7 stars, you should find out why.

Federal Aviation Authority Endorsement

The Federal Aviation Authority Endorsement is a list issued in the United States which consists of countries (yes, countries and not airlines) which are banned from flying into the United States airspace. The ban resulted from basically one reason: seemingly lack of capability to comply with the standards of international aviation for aircraft operations as well as maintenance. As a result, an airline which has a flawless safety record may still be banned from operating in the American airspace if it originates from a prohibited country which is deemed to impose potential risk to airline safety record.

IATA Operational Safety Audit Certification

The IATA Operational Safety Audit (IOSA) is an evaluation system created to examine the operational management and control systems of a certain airline. This audit is internationally recognized and accepted, where all members of the IATA must be registered to the IOSA in which they should remain registered to maintain their IATA memberships. The audit itself is conducted once every two years for each airline, and two stars will be awarded to an airline rating once they have passed this evaluation.

International Civil Aviation Organization Safety Parameters

The International Civil Aviation (ICAO) Safety Parameters consist of 8 criteria namely accident investigation, airworthiness, aerodromes, legislation, licensing, operations and organizations which airlines should fulfill as a whole if they want to be awarded with two stars to their rating. One star will still be given if 5 to 7 criteria are fulfilled. This parameter was designed to promote safety and orderly development to the world’s international civil aviation by setting standards and regulations that are necessary for the safety, security, efficiency and regularity for aviation operations. Not only that, the ICAO safety parameters also take into account aviation environmental protection.

In addition to the five given criteria above, airline ratings also take into account several other things. Another thing that is looked upon would be whether the airline has been grounded by their own country’s governing aviation safety authority. Furthermore, the types of planes, age of fleet, common routes, and history are also being examined although it may not directly affect the airline rating.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s